Monday, May 22, 2006

VOTE NO MASSACHUSETTS SB 959

MASSACHUSETTS ACTION ALERT -PLEASE DISTRIBUTE FREELY

URGE THE MASSACHUSETTS SENATE TO VOTE NO ON SB959 AS AMENDED.
 
SB959 began as a clean bill and adopted adults would have been able to access their OBCs in the same manner as all other Massachusetts adults. However, the Joint Committee on Children and Families has amended the bill and it is no longer an equal access bill. We all need to STOP this bill from becoming law. One of the local MA groups is supporting this bill and it will do great harm to the adoptees of MA, as well as the surrounding states.

PLEASE help us STOP SB959 from becoming law.

IF this bill passes, adopted ADULTS in Massachusetts will be sub-divided into THREE SEPARATE CATEGORIES based upon ARBITRARY years of birth. The Joint Committee has set forth different rules to govern each sub- group:

1) ADOPTEES BORN BEFORE 1974  They may request and receive their original birth certificates;
2) ADOPTEES BORN BETWEEN 1974 and 2008. These adoptees will continue to have their original birth certificates sealed. The existing law will still govern these adoptees. They may petition the court but if any birthmother says NO - then "no" it is;
3) ADOPTEES WHO WILL BE BOR AFTER 2008. These unborn babes will be able to request and receive their original birth certificates when they reach eighteen years of age.
 
Please call and e-mail your letter of opposition  urging a NO vote on SB959 to all Massachusetts Senators immediately! Let the Senators know that we all want EQUAL treatment under the law!

Read the full text of SB959:
http://www.mass.gov/legis/bills/senate/st00/st00959.htm
If you are out-of-state, be sure to mention any Massachusetts connection you may have.

CONTACT INFORMATION FOR MASSACHUSETTS SENATORS  
 
If you wish to write just one letter to the SENATORS: 

Robert.Antonioni@state.ma.us;Edward.Augustus@state.ma.u;Steven.Baddour@state.ma.us;Jarrett.Barrios@state.ma.us;Frederick.Berry@state.ma.us;Stephen.Brewer@state.ma.us;Scott.P.Brown@state.ma.us;Stephen.Buoniconti@state.ma.us;Harriette.Chandler@state.ma.us;Robert.Creedon@state.ma.us;Cynthia.Creem@state.ma.us;Susan.Fargo@state.ma.us;John.Hart@state.ma.us;Robert.Havern@state.ma.us;Robert.Hedlund@state.ma.us;Patricia.Jehlen@state.ma.us;Brian.A.Joyce@state.ma.us;Michael.Knapik@state.ma.us;Brian.Lees@state.ma.us;Thomas.McGee@state.ma.us;Joan.Menard@state.ma.us;Mark.Montigny@state.ma.us;Richard.Moore@state.ma.us;Michael.W.Morrissey@state.ma.us;Therese.Murray@state.ma.us;Andrea.Nuciforo@state.ma.us;Robert.O'Leary@state.ma.us;Marc.Pacheco@state.ma.us;Steven.Panagiotakos@state.ma.us;Pamela.Resor@state.ma.us;Stan.Rosenberg@state.ma.us;Karen.E.Spilka@state.ma.us;Bruce.Tarr@state.ma.us;James.Timilty@state.ma.us;Richard.Tisei@state.ma.us;Steven.Tolman@state.maRobert.Travaglini@state.ma.us;Susan.Tucker@state.ma.us;Marian.Walsh@state.ma.us;Dianne.Wilkerson@state.ma.us ;


AREA CODE 617

Robert A. Antonioni Robert.Antonioni@state.ma.us
109-E
722-1230
Edward M. Augustus Jr. Edward.Augustus@state.ma.us
413-B
722-1485
Steven A. Baddour Steven.Baddour@state.ma.us
513
722-1604
Jarrett T. Barrios Jarrett.Barrios@state.ma.us
309
722-1650
Frederick E. Berry Frederick.Berry@state.ma.us
333
722-1410
Stephen M. Brewer Stephen.Brewer@state.ma.us
109-B
722-1540
Scott P. Brown Scott.P.Brown@state.ma.us
520
722-1555
Stephen J. Buoniconti Stephen.Buoniconti@state.ma.us
206
722-1660
Harriette L. Chandler Harriette.Chandler@state.ma.us
312-D
722-1544
Robert S. Creedon, Jr. Robert.Creedon@state.ma.us
413-C
722-1200
Cynthia Stone Creem Cynthia.Creem@state.ma.us
416-B
722-1639
Susan C. Fargo Susan.Fargo@state.ma.us
504
722-1572
Jack Hart John.Hart@state.ma.us
109-C
722-1150
Robert A. Havern Robert.Havern@state.ma.us
109-D
722-1432
Robert L. Hedlund Robert.Hedlund@state.ma.us
413-F
722-1646
Patricia D. Jehlen Patricia.Jehlen@state.ma.us
213
722-1578
Brian A. Joyce Brian.A.Joyce@state.ma.us
413-A
722-1643
Michael R. Knapik Michael.Knapik@state.ma.us
421
722-1415
Brian P. Lees Brian.Lees@state.ma.us
308
722-1291
Thomas M. McGee Thomas.McGee@state.ma.us
112
722-1350
Joan M. Menard Joan.Menard@state.ma.us
215
722-1114
Mark C. Montigny Mark.Montigny@state.ma.us
511-A
722-1440
Richard T. Moore Richard.Moore@state.ma.us
111
722-1420
Michael W. Morrissey Michael.W.Morrissey@state.ma.us
413-D
722-1494
Therese Murray Therese.Murray@state.ma.us
212
722-1481
Andrea F. Nuciforo, Jr. Andrea.Nuciforo@state.ma.us
213-B
722-1625
Robert O'Leary Robert.O'Leary@state.ma.us
416-A
722-1570
Marc R. Pacheco Marc.Pacheco@state.ma.us
312-B
722-1551
Steven C. Panagiotakos Steven.Panagiotakos@state.ma.us
218
722-1630
Pamela P. Resor Pamela.Resor@state.ma.us
410
722-1120
Stanley C. Rosenberg Stan.Rosenberg@state.ma.us
320
722-1532
Karen E. Spilka Karen.E.Spilka@state.ma.us
511-C
722-1640
Bruce E. Tarr Bruce.Tarr@state.ma.us
313-A
722-1600
James E. Timilty James.Timilty@state.ma.us
518
722-1222
Richard R. Tisei Richard.Tisei@state.ma.us
313-C
722-1206
Steven A. Tolman Steven.Tolman@state.ma.us
511-B
722-1280
Senate President Robert E. Travaglini Robert.Travaglini@state.ma.us
332
722-1500
Susan C. Tucker Susan.Tucker@state.ma.us
424
722-1612
Marian Walsh Marian.Walsh@state.ma.us
405
722-1348
Dianne Wilkerson Dianne.Wilkerson@state.ma.us
312-C
722-1673





 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

1 Comments:

Blogger susanne-louise said...

What those of us, born before the cut off date, do not have is...time.

I was born Sept.17, 1953 at Ludlow Hospital and given up for adoption (placed in a foster home and then adopted in 1954).

I only have my redacted birth certificate. I wish to have my original one. I am not physically well and have some serious medical conditions. I'd like to at least have some _truth_ about myself and my origins while I still have the _time_, if only for practical, humanitarian and medical purposes. And my son should have that truth too about his maternal bio-grandparents(as he is the only 'blood' relative I know at the moment).

This may seem ignorant, but how would a person, such as me, go about requesting my original birth certificate, if this bill passes?

6:10 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home