Sunday, April 08, 2007

BASTARD NATION ACTION ALERT

HB 509

PLEASE FORWARD FREELY!

ATTENTION ALL ADOPTEES WHO LIVE OR WERE BORN IN MISSOURI


Last week the House Judiciary Committee heard testimony on HB 509 which restores the right of Missouri adoptees to access their original birth certificates. The Committee will probably vote on the bill on April 10, 2007.

The bill permits any person adopted in the state, 18 years or older, to access their original birth certificate upon request. This is a clean bill with no restrictions. Bastard Nation: the Adoptee Rights Organization supports the bill.

HB 509 can be found at http://www.house.mo.gov/bills071/biltxt/intro/HB0509I.htm

The relevant part of the bill reads:

Upon receipt of a written application to the state registrar, any adopted person eighteen years of age or older born in the state of Missouri shall be issued a certified copy of his or her unaltered, original, and unamended certificate of birth in the custody of the state registrar, with procedures, filing fees, and waiting periods identical to those imposed upon nonadopted citizens of the state of Missouri. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed as violating the provisions of section 453.121, RSMo.

If you have a Missouri connection please contact the House Judiciary Committee and ask them to support unrestricted access to birth certificates:

Brian Pratt Bryan.Pratt@house.mo.gov

Tim Flook tim.flook@house.mo.gov

Rachel Bringer Rachel.Bringer@house.mo.gov

John Burnett John.Burnett@house.mo.gov

Connie Johnson Connie.Johnson@house.mo.gov

Tim Jones tim.jones@house.mo.gov

Scott Lipke Scott.Lipke@house.mo.gov

Ray Salva Ray.Salva@house.mo.gov

Jason Smith Jason.Smith@house.mo.gov

Bryan Stevenson Bryan.Stevenson@house.mo.gov

Michael Vogt Michael.Vogt@house.mo.gov

Brian Yates Brian.Yates@house.mo.gov

Bryan.Pratt@house.mo.gov; tim.flook@house.mo.gov; Rachel.Bringer@house.mo.gov; John.Burnett@house.mo.gov;Connie.Johnson@house.mo.gov;tim.jones@house.mo.gov;Scott.Lipke@house.mo.gov; Ray.Salva@house.mo.gov Jason.Smith@house.mo.gov; Bryan.Stevenson@house.mo.gov[
Michael.Vogt@house.mo.gov;
Brian.Yates@house.mo.gov


SHOW THE SHOW ME STATE

WRITE NOW!

8 Comments:

Blogger Lisa said...

How do I find out if that passed or not? Do you know if MO opened the records or not. If so what's my first step? (Adoptee searching for lost family) Thank you!

10:56 AM  
Blogger Lisa said...

Well it passed. Cool! No more misery in Missouri for unanswered prayers for those ISO. Records were impossable to come by. I just cannot wait untill August arrives!

12:09 PM  
Blogger jamie said...

What will happen in august? Will I be able to finally look at my own adoption records without paying someone else to look at them?

11:25 PM  
Blogger Lisa said...

I have been looking for this info since 1989..... I now live in Texas and just found this site again after years... I was born in Missouri. WHen did it pass and when can I get info.....

7:27 AM  
Blogger Lisa said...

Hey Lisa from TX!
I am Lisa From St.L,MO Just wanted to see if you've heard any more about AUGUST??????
Three Cheers for the 2 Lisa's

2:41 PM  
Blogger Penny said...

I need more information on how to obtain the original birth certificate. My husband was adopted in 1970 in Missouri. The birth certificate we have is so generic - no information. Please assist. Thank you.

3:46 PM  
Blogger Anlizths said...

It Passed????? really????? I have been waiting for so long. I see references to August. Please tell me more! anlizths1@msn.com

6:40 PM  
Blogger Anlizths said...

I went out to the Missouri.gov website and looked to see the passage of this bill and do not see any evidence it has passed. I see it went to Judiciary, but is not even on the docket for a hearing...please tell me where you go the information that this bill passed!

7:06 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home