Tuesday, November 18, 2008

URGENT: REPEAL NEBRASKA LB 157. STOP CHILD DUMPING!

BASTARD NATION ACTION ALERT

IMMEDIATE ACTION NEEDED RE: NEBRASKA SAFE HAVEN LAW

REPEAL IS THE ONLY SOLUTION TO LB 157.

Members of the Nebraska Legislature convened Monday, Nov. 14 for a Unicam special session to address Nebraska's disastrous safe haven law, LB157. This law allows any person to abandon any child up to the age of 19 to a state- designated safe haven. Since its passage last summer, this law has turned the safe-haven concept on its head. 34 children have been abandoned to state designated safe havens since Sept. 1st.

It is urgent that you contact the Unicam legislators at once because bills introduced on the opening day of the Unicam session, Nov. 14th, will be eligible for final passage as early as this Friday, Nov. 21st.

Bastard Nation calls for the immediate and PERMANENT repeal of LB 157. Furthermore, it calls for the defeat of LB 1, LB 3 and any other subsequent attempts by the Unicam to impose any baby dump/Baby Moses, safe haven bill on the people of Nebraska.

LB 1 and LB 3, two alternatives to LB157, were introduced on Nov. 14th. LB1 would change the safe haven law to apply to infants 72 hours or younger. LB 3 would create a 2-tiered system of "legal abandonment": one for infants up to one year of age; the other for children between the ages of 1 and 16. The second tier would also create regional and state "intervention teams" to assist families in abandonment crisis enabling them to access services and avoid abandoning their children if possible. There is no intervention team for infants and their moms.

Nebraska's experience proves that abandonment is unacceptable at any age. The legislature must concentrate on saving Nebraska families rather than saving only the infants, who by the way, are in high demand in the adoption world.

BACKGROUND OF LB 157:

On July 8, 2008, Nebraska's LB 157 baby dump bill went into effect. Unlike other so-called "safe haven" laws which limit "legal abandonment" of children anywhere from birth up to the age of 1-year, this 47-word, 2-sentence law authorizes the "legal abandonment" of any child up to the age of 19 by any person. From September 1 to today, 34 children have been abandoned by their parents or guardians. These include a family of 9 children (age 1-17) left by their father and four dumpees brought in from out of state. At least another dozen unsuccessful attempts have been reported. These include two-self dump attempts: an 18-year old male in Grand Island living in a storage unit with his grandmother after he was kicked out of his home by his mother's boyfriend and a 16-year old high school honors student with her 10-month old baby. The young mom said her own mother physically abused her and stole her government assistance money.

The nightmare consequences of legal child abandonment have become a reality in Nebraska and have quickly spread its evil tentacles to other states. One woman rushed across the river from Iowa to dump her 14 year old daughter. A Georgia mother made speedy plans to drive to Nebraska to abandon her teen "before the Unicam had a chance to meet and change the bill."

.

Information links: http://cornkids.blogspot.com


CONTAC T INFORMATION

Adams Greg

District 24

gadams@leg.ne.gov

Aguilar Ray

District 35

raguilar@leg.ne.gov

Ashford Brad

District 20

bashford@leg.ne.gov

Avery Bill

District 28

bavery@leg.ne.gov

Burling Carroll

District 33

cburling@leg.ne.gov

Carlson Tom

District 38

tcarlson@leg.ne.gov

Christensen Mark

District 44

mchristensen@leg.ne.gov

Cornett Abbie

District 45

acornett@leg.ne.gov

Dierks Cap

District 40

mdierks@leg.ne.gov

Dubas Annette

District 34

adubas@leg.ne.gov

Engel L. Patrick

District 17

lengel@leg.ne.gov

Erdman Philip

District 47

perdman@leg.ne.gov

Fischer Deb

District 43

dfischer@leg.ne.gov

Flood Mike- PRESIDENT

District 19

mflood@leg.ne.gov

Friend Mike

District 10

mfriend@leg.ne.gov

Fulton Tony

District 29

tfulton@leg.ne.gov

Gay Tim

District 14

tgay@leg.ne.gov

Hansen Thomas

District 42

thansen@leg.ne.gov

Harms John

District 48

jharms@leg.ne.gov

Heidemann Lavon

District 1

lheidemann@leg.ne.gov

Howard Gwen

District 9

ghoward@leg.ne.gov

Hudkins Carol

District 21

chudkins@leg.ne.gov

Janssen Ray

District 15

rjanssen@leg.ne.gov

Johnson Joel

District 37

jjohnson@leg.ne.gov

Karpisek Russ

District 32

rkarpisek@leg.ne.gov

Kopplin Gail

District 3

gkopplin@leg.ne.gov

Kruse Lowen

District 13

lkruse@leg.ne.gov

Langemeier Chris

District 23

clangemeier@leg.ne.gov

Lathrop Steve

District 12

slathrop@leg.ne.gov

Lautenbaugh Scott

District 18

slautenbaugh@leg.ne.gov

Louden LeRoy

District 49

llouden@leg.ne.gov

McDonald Vickie

District 41

vmcdonald@leg.ne.gov

McGill Amanda

District 26

amcgill@leg.ne.gov

Nantkes Danielle

District 46

dnantkes@leg.ne.gov

Nelson John

District 6

jnelson@leg.ne.gov

Pahls Rich

District 31

rpahls@leg.ne.gov

Pankonin Dave

District 2

dpankonin@leg.ne.gov

Pedersen Dwite

District 39

dpedersen@leg.ne.gov

Pirsch Pete

District 4

ppirsch@leg.ne.gov

Preister Don

District 5

dpreister@leg.ne.gov

Raikes Ron

District 25

rraikes@leg.ne.gov

Rogert Kent

District 16

krogert@leg.ne.gov

Schimek DiAnna

District 27

dschimek@leg.ne.gov

Stuthman Arnie

District 22

astuthman@leg.ne.gov

Synowiecki John

District 7

jsynowiecki@leg.ne.gov

Wallman Norman

District 30

nwallman@leg.ne.gov

White Tom

District 8

twhite@leg.ne.gov

Wightman John


0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home